Bookmark this item
GFX Forums > GFXartist [GFX] > Virus infection on GFX

Virus infection on GFX Avatar
BaronImpossible | 03/20/2008 @424 | Edit edit post
When I went to artworks on my homepage my virus detector (work PC) - Kaspersky - told me the web page was infected by a Trojan virus and therefore has been barred.

Needless to say, I'll be waiting for this to be fixed before visiting anywhere but the forum again!

Re: Virus infection on GFX Avatar
BaronImpossible | 03/20/2008 @426 | Editedit post
Everyone's home page seems to be the same...

The requested URL http://ochrejelly.gfxartist.com/artworks is infected with Trojan-Spy.HTML.Fraud.gen virus

Re: Virus infection on GFX Avatar
Raphael | 03/20/2008 @451 | Editedit post
Cheers for the heads up Baron, we'll pass this on to the relevants immediately :)

Re: Virus infection on GFX Avatar
Wysiwyg | 03/20/2008 @526 | Editedit post
er....I dunno.

My workplace is the test site for all the new Department of Defense security protocols...which is stupid b/c it's a schoolhouse. I mean, the NSA is right down the street, why can't they do it?

But back on subject....gov't computer and network systems aren't detecting anything. I'm typing on a work computer right now.

I know when I tried to go to Azurelle/Reilachen's site awhile back....darktownmanga(.de?) I would get a virus warning too, but she explained how/why that was occuring.

I'll email Martin anyway to be sure.

Re: Virus infection on GFX Avatar
kittyKat | 03/20/2008 @542 | Editedit post
this has happened to me before as well but my webroot or norton picks up on it
its called google ADs
but I dont see GFX using google ads any more looks like its all 2D artist ads
but maybe thats what went down
I dont think you can get a virus from a jpg its the script flash that you have to watch out for
this also happens to me alot at myspace they are loaded with google flash ads

edit they are using google ads they are to the right of the page so thats what could be snagging yah I think as long as you use something like webroot and norton and firefox all will be good and protected. *edit again* and top banners are as well google ads I had to hit refresh a few times to notice it.

to Bretts comment
I know when I tried to go to Azurelle/Reilachen's site awhile back....(WWW.*EDIT*.COM) I would get a virus warning too, but she explained how/why that was occuring.


hell yah some thing happened to me her site is filled with spywear fricking dangerous!
ps you shouldn't post her link in case someone goes there just out of curiosity and doesn't have any protection and they get slammed.

here I took a screen shot google flash ad http://i25.tinypic.com/fveclc.jpg
not that THAT one is infected but I don't think they have any control what pops up for an ad I think it goes with keywords what kind of ad shows up
you just have to be careful and safe when surfing ANYWHERE

http://www.webroot.com
http://www.symantec.com
http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/
never ever surf on internet explore
[Message edited on 03/20 @566]

Re: Virus infection on GFX Avatar
BaronImpossible | 03/20/2008 @612 | Editedit post
It might be Kaspersky giving a false positive (I don't think it's that good to be honest) but it's best to get it checked out anyway :)

Re: Virus infection on GFX Avatar
Wysiwyg | 03/20/2008 @644 | Editedit post
quote:

Elite, GFXartist sponsor kittyKat wrote on 03/20 @542

to Bretts comment
I know when I tried to go to Azurelle/Reilachen's site awhile back....(WWW.*EDIT*.COM) I would get a virus warning too, but she explained how/why that was occuring.


hell yah some thing happened to me her site is filled with spywear fricking dangerous!
ps you shouldn't post her link in case someone goes there just out of curiosity and doesn't have any protection and they get slammed.


1. The Az's site has gone through a total revamp Pam. It's just a wordpress blog now
2. It WASN'T spyware when there was a problem.
3. Based on the title of this site...and the context of discussion...if they just click a link w/o reading they deserve what they get ;)

Re: Virus infection on GFX Avatar
kittyKat | 03/20/2008 @755 | Editedit post
quote:

Administrator, GFXartist sponsor Wysiwyg wrote on 03/20 @644
1. The Az's site has gone through a total revamp Pam. It's just a wordpress blog now
2. It WASN'T spyware when there was a problem.
3. Based on the title of this site...and the context of discussion...if they just click a link w/o reading they deserve what they get ;)



http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/4975/inyourfacetq1.jpg
[Message edited on 03/20 @757]

Re: Virus infection on GFX Avatar
Wysiwyg | 03/20/2008 @839 | Editedit post
quote:

Elite, GFXartist sponsor kittyKat wrote on 03/20 @755
[...]



http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/4975/inyourfacetq1.jpg


fc.webmasterpro.de???

LOL that's a website hit counter....
http://tinyurl.com/2vwh6n

and here's the companies link. http://www.webmasterpro.de/

And a discussion about why some places block it.
http://tinyurl.com/38detc

It's the script that is pinging your visit (reading your IP) that's causing Spysweeper to flip. Just b/c an AV program picks something up doesn't mean it's malicious. Hell, Webroot doesn't even like if you install Norton while it's active :p

This is not too unlike when Electronic Arts started adding 'live ads' in their online mulitplayer games. While playing the game will actually pull ads that are relevant to your location or browsing habits. Battlefield 2142 is the first of it's kind to do so, but is not alone.

Again....(jokes aside) if a comp that's on the DISA network (Defense Intelligence Security Agency) can visit it w/o an alarm going off I highly doubt a commercial spyware program is catching something DoD is missing.

Re: Virus infection on GFX Avatar
BaronImpossible | 03/20/2008 @927 | Editedit post
I'm thinking my OP message is because the AV at work is crap. My home AV isn't picking up anything :)

Re: Virus infection on GFX Avatar
Slapo | 03/21/2008 @540 | Editedit post
I used to use Kaspersky for a while some time ago and it was pretty reliable and fast too, had no problems at all.

Now, I have Avast Home, Comodo Firewall Pro and Spyware Terminator (thinking about ditching it, eats up resources sometimes). I'm not getting any warnings here.

When I'll get a job later this year and maybe a new computer too, I'll probably go for Eset Smart Security Suite.
[Message edited on 03/21 @541]

previous page 1 next page
Search the site
SiteSearch

Web GFXartist.com

Profile


GFXuser name:
   BaronImpossible
Full Name:
  Simon Dominic
Gender:
  Male
Country:
  United Kingdom
Member since:
  12/11/2004

Actions:
view profile View profile
visit site Visit website
Online members
@078: killadore
@077: taaeb
@077: Donna
@076: liiga
@076: organicparadox
@076: Imti
Sponsored Links


Affiliates